By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Dec 21, 2009

AJAX 2010 and beyond… some notes from the recent club AGM.

.....summary on the AGM and permanent course in Curracloe by Aongus O'Cleirigh...

Permanent orienteering course for Curracloe…
Curracloe2009.jpgAjax members Denis Reidy, John Delacy and Martin Flynn are working with Coillte to setup a permanent orienteering course in Curracloe, Co. Wexford.  This was the venue of the 1981 Irish Orienteering Championships individual (classic) race.  The terrain consists of forested sand-dunes in a narrow strip along the coast. There are three courses planned  – an easy 2k course on paths, an off-path course of 3k, and a more difficult 4.5k course.  The mapped area is the Northern part of the original Curracloe map and fits on an A4 sheet.  (See map extract).  Sadly, over the years some of the terrain has become overgrown and is now impenetrable.

Ajax set to host IOC 2011…
30 years after organizing its first Irish Orienteering Championships in Curracloe and Camolin, Ajax will host IOC 2011.  The racing venues will be the Glendoo ridge and Carrickshouk.  Surveying (primarily by Pat Healy) has been progressing steadily.  Event officials who have volunteered to date are Denis Reidy - overall event coordinator, Aonghus O'Cleirigh - planner classic course, Marcus Geoghegan - planner relay and Paul Smyth - planner short/sprint course.

Main organizers of upcoming events…
Vale of Clara – Marcus Geoghegan, Denis Reidy, Mike Long.  (already successfully held, where the new club SI equipment and refreshment tent received their first competitive outing).
Bushy Park NightO – Mike Long, Peter Kernan, John Delacy.
Bull Island – Andrew McCarthy, Paul Smyth, Aonghus O’Cleirigh.

Other club matters…
The club is still solvent, but we need more members (or at least members who pay their subscriptions.)  Membership is €25 for Adult or family and €10 for Junior.
Two new maps were completed this year – Rathfarnham, Bull Island North; three maps
were revised – Vale of Clara, Killiney Hill, Curracloe.  Other maps including those for IOC 2011 are in the pipeline.

Congratulations to Cian O'Reilly who competed for Ireland at the World Orienteering Championships this year in Hungary in the Trail-O discipline.

Ajax may yet get a new club jacket for its members.

Current members of the Ajax committee…
Chairman: Denis Reidy
Treasurer: Donal Wickham
Mapping Officer: Aonghus O'Cleirigh
Children's Officer: Mike Long
Equipment Officer: John DeLacy
Web Master: Peter Kernan

The comments are closed.